Experiment Below


I’ve been on a quest for something different recently. Something well outside my normal listening adventures. As eclectic and picky as I am, sometimes I think it’s impossible to find something different that I haven’t tried on before. Well, a friend of mine passed the release on to me and suggested I give it a try. Remind me later to thank him profusely for such a great release. I was unaware of Hovercraft before this release, but it is amazing. A wonderful blend of noise and rock. I can almost picture it as an adventure Lab Report would consider if they were to drag on board a drummer and bassist full time. Unfortunately, it’s been a hard journey for me. It’s taken about two weeks of constant listening to find it accessible. I’m guessing that within another month or two, anyone that gets in my car is going to suffer endlessly as Experiment Below begins to pop up more and more frequently in my listening habits. If you like your noise mixed with a little guttural rock, try it on for a little bit. Mute Records, 140 W. 22nd Street, Ste 10A, New York, NY 10011-2420; http://www.mutelibtech.com

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply

Recently on Ink 19...

  • Butch Walker
    Butch Walker

    Stay Gold (Dangerbird Records). Review by Andrew Ellis.

  • Belly

    Belly brought lot of grit and a touch of grace to the Bowery Ballroom in NYC.

  • Pickathon 2016
    Pickathon 2016

    Pendarvis Farms transforms for three extraordinary days into the fun and psychedelic fest of your wildest indie music loving dreams, Pickathon. Alexa Harris was there to experience the joys of farm life for the weekend.

  • Money Chicha
    Money Chicha

    Echo En Mexico (Vampisoul). Review by James Mann.

  • Micronotz reissues
    Micronotz reissues

    Mortal Micronotz, Smash, Live, The Beast that Devoured Itself, 40 Fingers (Bar/None). Review by Scott Adams.

  • Big Eyes
    Big Eyes

    Stake My Claim (Don Giovanni Records). Review by Jen Cray.

  • Various Artists
    Various Artists

    Money Maker (Studio One). Review by Bob Pomeroy.

  • Pawns

    A triple bill of underground Goth, led by NYC’s Pawns, transforms Uncle Lou’s into a time machine. Jen Cray did not wear eye makeup, but she did wear a black shirt to the show.

  • Bossacucanova

    The Best of Bossacucanova (Six Degrees Records). Review by James Mann.

  • Ranch Ghost
    Ranch Ghost

    Lookin’ (Rough Beast Records). Review by Jen Cray.

From the Archives