King Crimson

King Crimson

The Nightwatch


The live beast Crimson is captured for two discs worth of serious frolicking over and between the boundaries of progressive art rock. Occasionally very delicate — more often than not thrashing where no band has thrashed before in simultaneous confusion and perfect fusion leaving no chord unturned and no chromatic scale uncontorted.

The personnel for this November 1973 Amsterdam performance is Robert Fripp, Bill Bruford, John Wetton on bass and vocals, and David Cross on violin and mellotron.

Fluctuation. Power. Transition. Dedication. All of these are included and permanently installed in such Crimson classics as “Lament,””Talking Drum,””Lark’s tongue In Aspic II,” and “21st Century Schizoid Man.” Also included are lots of insightful liner notes, both historical and philosophical, mostly written by Fripp.

So if you’ve had enough of everything that’s now and are open to try some progressive then, then Nightwatch will prove a very powerful document for you.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Recently on Ink 19...

From the Archives