Izzy Stradlin

Izzy Stradlin

117 Degrees


The wait is finally over… Izzy Stradlin is back. It has been six long years since the former Guns ‘n Roses’ guitarist made his debut as a solo artist with his band Izzy Stradlin and the Ju Ju Hounds. Now Stradlin, minus the Hounds, has returned with the scorching effort 117 Degrees.

117 Degrees excels in large part due to all the different types of music Stradlin has incorporated, including metal, punk, blues, surf, country, and just good old rock ‘n roll. It also helps that Stradlin has a voice and style very similar to Keith Richards. In addition, Stradlin has enlisted the help of some extremely talented musicians — guitarist Rick Richards (Georgia Satellites, Ju Ju Hounds), bassist Duff McKagan (Guns ‘n Roses), and drummer Taz Bentley (Reverend Horton Heat).

Although every track is a winner, some stand out more than others. For example, both the southern-rock flavored tracks “Ain’t It A Bitch” and “Old Hat.” Stradlin also shines on Chuck Berry’s “Memphis” and the hard-rocking title track. One of the more intriguing songs on the record is “Here Before You,” which opens with an older-sounding recording of the song. Interestingly, Stradlin features two instrumentals on this album, the metalish “Grunt” and the groovin’ “Surf Roach,” both of which are highly enjoyable.

117 Degrees is an outstanding accomplishment for Stradlin, who manages to give listeners something few bands can — an album that is incredible from beginning to end.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply

Recently on Ink 19...

  • Zombie

    One of the most notorious horror films is back for its 40th anniversary.

  • Tyrel

    Tyrel is the new feature by controversial Chilean director, Sebastián Silva, who here invites you to spend a weekend with the film’s African-American protagonist while he suffers through an alcohol-fueled and epically awkward birthday celebration.

  • Sick Note
    Sick Note

    If you have a problem distinguishing between highly inappropriate and hilarious, then Ian Koss thinks this show is for you.

  • Christmas Is…
    Christmas Is…

    Todd Allen Long sings an eclectic collection of Holiday favorites.

  • Bloodlines: The Art and Life of Vincent Castiglia
    Bloodlines: The Art and Life of Vincent Castiglia

    Vincent Castiglia is an painter, tattoo artist, metal guitarist and the man who captures amazing images in blood. Bloodlines takes you into his works and world.

  • 100 Things to Do in Orlando Before You Die (2nd Edition)
    100 Things to Do in Orlando Before You Die (2nd Edition)

    A tourist guide to some of the fun things only locals know about in the City Beautiful and surrounding countryside.

  • Say Sue Me
    Say Sue Me

    Christmas, It’s No Biggie (Damnably Records). Review by Bob Pomeroy.

  • Lucius

    Christmas Time is Here. Review by Phil Bailey.

  • Tarik Aktaş
    Tarik Aktaş

    Dead Horse Nebula director, Tarik Aktaş, speaks with Generoso Fierro about his AFI Fest 2018-selected debut feature.

  • Beth Hart
    Beth Hart

    Beth Hart – Live At The Royal Albert Hall (Mascot Label Group/Provogue). Review by Michelle Wilson.

From the Archives