Rex Hobart and the Misery Boys

Rex Hobart and the Misery Boys

Forever Always Ends


Rex Hobart knows heartache. The 14 cuts on his initial Bloodshot release are a roadmap of pain, loneliness and the blues, served up in true country style. The opener, “I Always Cry at Weddings,” is heartfelt enough to become the divorced men’s National Anthem, and it doesn’t get much happier the more you listen. Hobart’s rich vocals fit well with the classic country sound (Haggard, Buck Owens — ya know, the good stuff) of the Misery Boys, allowing the tales of woe to slide down easy. This is not a record for sunny days and newlyweds. Nope, this one you play alone in the apartment, surrounded by the cardboard boxes you left your house of love with. Perfect music for imperfect times.

Bloodshot Records, 3039 W. Irving Park, Chicago, IL 60618-3538;

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Recently on Ink 19...

From the Archives