Heaven is in Your Mind [reissue]


A brief history lesson: Traffic featured Steve Winwood on vocals, Jim Capaldi on percussion, Chris Wood on flute/sax, and Dave Mason on guitars. Winwood, who had already charted prior to his stint in Traffic, went on to other bands (most notably Blind Faith, with members of Cream) and eventually, a couple of chart-busting hits in the ’80s. Dave Mason enjoys a critically-acclaimed solo career. Capaldi is a well-respected session musician. Not sure about Wood, but whatever his status may be, it’s not for lack of talent.

Traffic’s sound is unique from a modern perspective. A casual listen may have you lumping them with most ’60s folk psychedelia, yet the force of their arrangements and their melodic impact was undeniable, and if they fade in with their contemporaries it’s because of their trail-blazing sound, often imitated but hardly duplicated. Gentle, a bit medieval sometimes (it’s the flute, I tell you), the band can range from Thompson folk (“House for Everyone”) to grooving jazz (“Giving To You”) to an important archetype of psychedelic balladry (“Dear Mr. Fantasy”).

These remasters clearly showcase not only the band’s music, but also their innovation in the studio. For this reason, I’d recommend Heaven over Mr. Fantasy, despite the latter’s superior liner notes. Journey back to a time when a sitar solo was adventurous, not cliché.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply

Recently on Ink 19...

  • Phantasmagoria X: “Reckoning”
    Phantasmagoria X: “Reckoning”

    John DiDonna’s medley of creepy stories and trilling dance returns once more with a tour though all the Central Florida hot spots from Deland to Tampa.

  • Killer Nun
    Killer Nun

    Let Anita Ekberg and director Giulio Berruti introduce you to the nunspolitation genre with Killer Nun.

  • The Tree House
    The Tree House

    One of the most highly regarded works to screen at this year’s Locarno Film Festival was Quý Minh Trương’s The Tree House (Nhà cây), a documentary that dramatically utilizes a science fiction lens to simultaneously examine the cultures of multiple ethnic groups in Vietnam while compelling the audience to question the contemporary importance of visual documentation.

  • Disturbed Furniture
    Disturbed Furniture

    Continuous Pleasures (Arevarc Records). Review by Bob Pomeroy.

  • A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder
    A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder

    Sleeping your way to the top is one thing, but killing your way up there works a just as well.

  • Deathtrap

    A writer hits a dry spell and then murders his wife, all in the name of making a hit.

  • Cabin of Fear
    Cabin of Fear

    Campers freak out when a murderer is on the loose and they have no cell phone reception.

  • Jake La Botz
    Jake La Botz

    They’re Coming For Me (Hi-Style / Free Dirt). Review by Bob Pomeroy.

  • Howlin Rain
    Howlin Rain

    Under The Wheels: Live From The Coasts, Volume 1 (Silver Current Records). Review by Michelle Wilson.

  • The Lilacs
    The Lilacs

    Endure (Pravda). Review by Bob Pomeroy.

From the Archives