Cee Cee Michaela

Cee Cee Michaela

Everybody’s Talkin’


Cee Cee Michaela’s music has appeared on BET Live in LA, Girlfriends, and Party Of Five, and now the talented songstress’s debut can be bought and brought to your own sound system. With a vocal hybrid of Jill Scott, Phoebe Snow, and Marlena Shaw, Michaela can definitely sing, and she has the Afro-positivity vibe of Tracy Chapman and Sweet Honey in the Rock that R&B definitely needs more of. Being a debut, Everybody’s Talkin’ plays to mixed results. There are some bad choices here (like “Blues in F Minor” and “Be Wise Be Strong Be U”) that really make you wonder what they were thinking. However, there are some really good choices that outweigh the groaning former (check out “Harriet” and “Darkness Upon the Face”). With heavier production muscle behind her, Michaela can go places. She reminds me a lot of Dionne Farris and the hope that her debut produced. Hopefully, Michaela does not follow in those footsteps.

Cee Cee Michaela: http://www.ceeceemichaela.com

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Recently on Ink 19...

From the Archives