Groove Radio Presents

Groove Radio Presents

House Grooves

Nettwerk America

This disc can light up any house party and will have people dancing on furniture and fixtures bouncing off walls with its throbbing pulse. There will be no rest for the weary, and oxygen and plenty of fluids is recommended for all those who dare to listen.

House Grooves starts off with the anthemic banger, “Safe From Harm” by Narcotic Thrust and refuses to stop. Colorsound’s “Fly with Me” is utterly maddening. Different Gear’s “A Little Bit Paranoid” is a humorous 4/4 exploration into Catholic guilt. Timo Maas’ mix of Starecase’s “See” is a bit of a clunker, but he comes back strong with the ’80s disco groove, “Shifter,” with MC Chickaboo’s syrupy vocals. The disc then gets a little too tech/housey for my personal tastes, but it still moves you. Green Velvet’s “La La Land,” with vocals straight out of the Thomas Dolby/David Byrne tradition, is especially nice, as is Layo & Bushwacka’s Nina Simone-tinged “Love Story.” And Brancaccio & Asher wrap up the whole adventure with the ever-smooth, “It’s Gonna Be.”

This is a must-dance disc that can’t be missed by those who love to boogie.

Nettwerk America:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Recently on Ink 19...

From the Archives