The Quill

The Quill

Hooray! It’s a Deathtrip


Sweden’s the Quill play classic blues-based hard rock in the vein of Black Sabbath, Mountain and Deep Purple, with the modern touch and scope of newer acts like Monster Magnet and Queens of the Stone Age. It’s all been done to death, of course, but the Quill throw in some great songs alongside mammoth performances, not least by soaring lead singer Magnus Ekwall, making this a more than worthwhile effort. The band’s lyrics are ambitious, if perhaps a bit too vague and nonsensically metaphorical for their own good. But musically, this is pretty down to earth stuff. Not to say that the Quill suffer much from strict genre-restrictions, favoring width and introspection over the dumb cock-rock posing to which so many of their peers resort. From the anthemic “Spinning Around” to the subversive “Hammerhead” and on to the drawling “Control,” the Quill demonstrate their versatile and inclusive approach, and the consistent strength of their performances and songwriting. The Quill don’t reinvent rock, but that’s hardly what they’re aiming for. Hooray! It’s A Deathtrip is yet another surprisingly strong Swedish classic hard rock album.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply

Recently on Ink 19...

  • Summerland

    In rural England, a cranky woman bonds with and evacuee boy and uncovers a strange connection to her past.

  • Laurel & Hardy: The Definitive Restorations
    Laurel & Hardy: The Definitive Restorations

    These geniuses of early comedy finally get the presentation they are due in this Blu-ray edition.

  • Four-Letter Words
    Four-Letter Words

    No need to worry about offending delicate sensibilities with this playlist. We’re not talking about profanity, so just take the title at face value.

  • A Genesis In My Bed
    A Genesis In My Bed

    Former Genesis guitarist, Steve Hackett shares his life story in his story in an engaging and honest memoir. Reading his story feels like hanging out with a friend who’s interested in sharing how he felt living these experiences.

  • The Jayhawks
    The Jayhawks

    XOXO (Sham/Thirty Tigers). Review by Jeremy Glazier.

  • 18 to Party
    18 to Party

    When you’re in 8th grade, sneaking into a bar is way cooler than it is when you’re 40.

  • Adam

    A pregnant woman finds a home in Casablanca.

  • 2020 on Fire
    2020 on Fire

    Sound Salvation takes on current events with a playlist addressing the current fight for racial and social justice in America and the battles playing out in the streets in the aftermath of the death of George Floyd.

  • Pokey Lafarge
    Pokey Lafarge

    Rock Bottom Rhapsody (New West Records). Review by Jeremy Glazier.

  • Landfall

    Cecilia Aldarondo takes a look at Puerto Rico after Hurricane Maria.

From the Archives