Mike Park

Mike Park

Mike Park

For the Love of Music


Considering Mike Park is founder of national punk tour Plea for Peace, you’d expect a preachy, overt predilection for themes of peace, anti-racism, etc. Even though those themes do exist on his first solo record, For the Love of Music, they aren’t overly dramatic.

Like much of today’s art, sentimentality can stifle progression and simply destroy any emotional connection. Park, however, is able to delve away from that sappiness. He tackles racism (“From Korea”) and ideals of peace (“On That Stage” and “Counting Sheep”), and he does it with maturity.

On “Counting Sheep,” he explores the separation of parents and children: “And I want for this moment to rise / I’m sorry for being the prize / I’m older, but I can’t stay here with you… Dear Mom.” Later, on “Challenging Me,” he tackles wealth and suffering: “This fortune brought to you / is it worth the pain, the suffering? / would you gather work sparingly without the stress or is there such a thing.”

He does all this lyrical challenging while offering a truly solid acoustical backbone. Occasionally, he arranges violin (“Thankful All The Same”) with skill and professionalism. “Train Maps” reminds of the eclecticism of REM’s “Losing My Religion,” and “Southbound 280” has a six-string country-western vibe.

Park delivers a solid solo debut that exhibits remarkable range and solid arrangements while tackling pressing social concerns.

Mike Park: www.mikeparkmusic.com • Asian Man: www.asianmanrecords.com • SubCity: www.subcity.net

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply

Recently on Ink 19...

  • Shithouse

    A darling love story with engaging characters and one of the worst titles ever.

  • Too Much and Never Enough
    Too Much and Never Enough

    One families indifference and abandonment gave America its greatest failure. Mary Trump explains how.

  • Summerland

    In rural England, a cranky woman bonds with and evacuee boy and uncovers a strange connection to her past.

  • Laurel & Hardy: The Definitive Restorations
    Laurel & Hardy: The Definitive Restorations

    These geniuses of early comedy finally get the presentation they are due in this Blu-ray edition.

  • Four-Letter Words
    Four-Letter Words

    No need to worry about offending delicate sensibilities with this playlist. We’re not talking about profanity, so just take the title at face value.

  • A Genesis In My Bed
    A Genesis In My Bed

    Former Genesis guitarist, Steve Hackett shares his life story in his story in an engaging and honest memoir. Reading his story feels like hanging out with a friend who’s interested in sharing how he felt living these experiences.

  • The Jayhawks
    The Jayhawks

    XOXO (Sham/Thirty Tigers). Review by Jeremy Glazier.

  • 18 to Party
    18 to Party

    When you’re in 8th grade, sneaking into a bar is way cooler than it is when you’re 40.

  • Adam

    A pregnant woman finds a home in Casablanca.

  • 2020 on Fire
    2020 on Fire

    Sound Salvation takes on current events with a playlist addressing the current fight for racial and social justice in America and the battles playing out in the streets in the aftermath of the death of George Floyd.

From the Archives