Matthew Perryman Jones

Matthew Perryman Jones

Matthew Perryman Jones

Swallow The Sea

MPJ Music

Nashville singer-songwriter Matthew Perryman Jones has been a well-known name on the indie scene since his previous record Throwing Punches In The Dark was released in 2006.

However, his latest album Swallow The Sea, could be the one that helps him make the step up to national acclaim, such is its quality.

The understated brilliance of opener “Out of the Shadows” is a curious way to begin the album, yet its undeniably memorable chorus hints at Jones’ songwriting expertise. The more uptempo vibe of “Without a Clue” with its huge chorus, atmospheric guitar tones and slick production by Neilsen Hubbard immediately invites comparisons to U2 and Snow Patrol, while the delicate “Amelia” shows a softer side to Jones’ writing.

The punchy rock of “Don’t Fall In Love” and the epic title track are mesmering tracks, but the standouts of a high quality record are “Save You” and “Feels Like Letting Go”, either of which could be the song to take Jones’ career to the next level.

Quite simply, independent releases – or major label ones for that matter – don’t come much better than Swallow The Sea.

MPJ Music:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Recently on Ink 19...

From the Archives