Music Reviews
Below Jupiter

Below Jupiter

Step Into Home (Act 1)

Below Jupiter is a dreary mixture of laid-back piano tunes laced with a potent political massage that somehow avoids the anthemic call-to-arms of ’60s protest music yet fails to push any boundaries of 21st Century pop. Titles like “Eyes Have Been Opened” and “Complicity With the Butcher” recall the self-important re-education projects of Maoist China, and even a tribute to Eugene Debs fails to bring any bile to the surface. It takes more than an agenda to make world-changing political art, but Below Jupiter has yet to climb to the level of a good talk show tirade.

Below Jupiter:

Recently on Ink 19...