Sam Lewis

Sam Lewis

Sam Lewis

Waiting On You

Brash Music

Honey-voiced Sam Lewis hits a home run on his second album, Waiting On You. The Nashville transplant finds a southern soul groove that never lets up for the album’s 12 cuts. Co-produced by Lewis and Oliver Wood of the Wood Brothers, the record features a stellar cast of helpers including the great Kenny Vaughan on guitar along with Darrell Scott, Will Kimbrough and Willie Nelson’s ace harmonica player, Mickey Raphael. With all that talent, you know the end result is gonna be good, and good it is.

Opening with “3/4 Time”, Lewis has a funky, Muscle Shoals/Memphis thing going, and his voice, a hybrid of James Taylor mixed with a bit of Van Morrison, rides atop Vaughan’s guitar like icing on a cake. Slowing it down on “Love Me Again”, Lewis is buttressed by the legendary McCrary Sisters on vocals and some nifty slide work from jack of all trades Will Kimbrough. The whole record has a Spooner Oldham/Dan Penn vibe, particularly on the stomper “Things Will Never Be The Same”.

Recorded live in two and a half days, the end result is anything but rushed, but rather relaxed and easy, a perfect summer record to be enjoyed with some good whiskey and time to appreciate Lewis’s grand voice playing off some excellent musicians. A little bit rock, a bit of Memphis soul, and loads of atmosphere, Waiting On You satisfies.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Recently on Ink 19...

  • The Reading Room
    The Reading Room

    Today’s episode features author Anna-Marie O’Brien talking about her book Adventures of a Metalhead Librarian: A Rock N’ Roll Memoir with Ink 19’s Rose Petralia.

  • Bush Tetras
    Bush Tetras

    Rhythm and Paranoia (Wharf Cat). Review by Scott Adams.

  • Tom Tom Club
    Tom Tom Club

    The Good The Bad and the Funky (Nacional). Review by Julius C. Lacking.

  • Barnes & Barnes
    Barnes & Barnes

    Pancake Dream (Demented Punk Records). Review by Carl F. Gauze.

  • Jeremiah Lockwood
    Jeremiah Lockwood

    A Great Miracle: Jeremiah Lockwood’s Guitar Soli Chanukah Album (Reboot). Review by Bob Pomeroy.

  • Metallica: The $24.95 Book
    Metallica: The $24.95 Book

    From an underground band that pioneered the thrash metal sound, to arguably the biggest rock act in the new millennium, Metallica has had a long and tumultuous history. Ben Apatoff scours a myriad of sources to catalog this history in his new book.

  • Araceli Lemos
    Araceli Lemos

    Shortly after AFI Fest 2021 wrapped, Generoso spoke at length with director, Araceli Lemos about her award-winning and potent feature debut, Holy Emy. Lemos’s film uses elements of body horror in her story about the exoticization of two Filipina sisters living in Greece and how that exploitation creates a distance between them.

  • Southern Accents 55
    Southern Accents 55

    A woofin’ good time with cuts from Hank Williams, Muddy Waters, Delta Moon and more from KMRD 96.9, Madrid, New Mexico!

  • Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead
    Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead

    Absurdism with a healthy dose of air conditioning.

  • Mixtape 172 :: My Old Bassist
    Mixtape 172 :: My Old Bassist

    Like pre-teens throwing every liquid into the kitchen blender and daring each other to drink the results, Woody and Jeremy fuse all manner of sounds legitimate and profane into some murky concoction that tastes surprisingly good.

From the Archives