Music Reviews


Full Throttle Live

With their latest release, Full Throttle Live, the platinum-selling Sacramento-based combo Tesla proves they’re still firing on all cylinders. Caught “on tape” last year at the Full Throttle Saloon in Sturgis, South Dakota, the record is a high-octane, career-spanning assault.

Remaining true to their authentic, hard-rocking, blues-based rep, the turbo-charged, nine-track collection reflects the band’s heavier fare, featuring the lead-off single “Miles Away” and other longtime staples, including “Changes,” “Lazy Days, Crazy Nights,” and “Edison’s Medicine,” as well as the more recent fan favorites “Time to Rock!” and “Cold Blue Steel.”

Perennial frontman Jeff Keith delivers a sweaty, in-your-face performance, while the rhythm section of co-founding bassist Brian Wheat and relief drummer Steve Brown is simply brutal, and the unrelenting dual guitar work of Frank Hannon and Dave Rude borders on obscene.

Produced and released independently, the record has permission to be gritty, raw, and heavy AF. Add to the mix the bonus track remake of the Aerosmith classic “SOS (Too Bad),” and you’ve got yourself a nasty little nut-buster, to be sure.

Full Throttle Live Track List

  1. Miles Away

  1. Changes

  1. Time to Rock!

  1. Breakin’ Free

  1. Call It What You Want

  1. Lazy Days Crazy Nights

  1. Cold Blue Steel

  1. Edison’s Medicine

  1. S.O.S. (Too Bad)


Recently on Ink 19...

Best of Five

Best of Five

Screen Reviews

Not everyone can be excited by blocks spinning on a screen, but if you are, Ian Koss recommends you pay attention to Best of Five.



Event Reviews

Jeremy Glazier shoots a CAKE headline show at McGrath Amphitheater.