Javier Escovedo

Javier Escovedo

Javier Escovedo

Kicked Out Of Eden

Saustex Media

While he might not get as much press as this more heralded brother, Alejandro, Javier Escovedo is every bit the rocker. From forming The Zeros in 1977- their punky “Wild Weekend” is one of the highlights of the era- to joining his brother in the True Believers in the ’80s, Javier has honed his lean, cutting style of guitar histrionics into a Johnny Thunders/Rick Richards groove, and his latest, Kicked Out Of Eden will satisfy anyone looking for that certain something that has long been out of step since the New York Dolls quit treading the boards.

Opening with “Downtown” you’d swear it was Max’s Kansas City in the ’70s, Escovedo’s gritty guitar starting the record on a high note indeed. Joined by Brad Rice on guitar (The Backsliders, Keith Urban), they quickly establish a Stoneish strut with cuts such as “It Ain’t Easy” and “This Side of Nowhere”, while “Just Like All The Rest” is a slice of power pop fueled by chiming Rickenbackers, ala The Byrds.

But lest you forget what’s what, Escovedo pops out “Bad and Good” which is pure garage-style swagger, while “Gypsy Son” sounds like a lost Flamin’ Groovies outtake. Just pure bliss, full of Escovedo’s punk background and hard-lived life. Kicked Out Of Eden is pure manna from guitar heaven. Who needs Eden, anyway? Javier Escovedo sure don’t.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Recently on Ink 19...

From the Archives